Ashu and Kuang-Hao Huang

Saxophonist and Piano

Presented by Chamber Music Society Fairfield

Sondheim Center for the Performing Arts

Ticket Information

$15 - General Admission
$12 - Seniors 65 yrs and older, Students, Youth 12 yrs and older, IA Course Participants

The Chamber Music Society Fairfield presents Ashu, international award winning saxophonist and Kuang-Hao Huang, piano, Saturday, September 17 at 8 p.m. at the Sondheim Center for the Performing Arts.

Compositions by Piazzolla, Glazunov, Villa-Lobos, Korngold, Debussy, Ravel, Mahler.

Saxophonist Ashu has established an extraordinary ability to communicate with audiences through his charismatic and moving performance style. Critics have raved that he's "just as much fun to watch as he is to listen to" (Dallas Morning News) and "Riveting, Brilliant, Pizzazz to Burn!" (NPR). He has repeatedly defied conventions by winning major international competitions traditionally won by pianists and violinists.

Born and raised in California, Ashu began playing the saxophone at age 10. Recent solo performances have taken him throughout Norway, Switzerland, Germany, Austria, France, Portugal, West Indies, and the USA; with upcoming tours in Australia, New Zealand, and the Baltic.

Ashu has proven a unique ability to captivate general as well as classical audiences, and shown how the concert saxophone can reach beyond stylistic categorization and to a large diversity of people. While most people have never heard the saxophone in concert music, Ashu has begun to change this. He says, "It's really an incredible instrument. It can play with such emotional intensity, sing like a voice, and effortlessly project in the largest of halls. It's capable of a lot of really beautiful things."